Kyk-Over-Al
Word of the Day
Free website content provided by The Free Dictionary

Article of the Day
Free website content provided by The Free Dictionary

This Day in History
Free website content provided by The Free Dictionary

Today's Birthday
Free website content provided by The Free Dictionary

In the News
Free website content provided by The Free Dictionary

Quotation of the Day
Free website content provided by The Free Dictionary

Match Up
Match each word in the left column with its synonym on the right. When finished, click Answer to see the results. Good luck!

 
Free website content provided by The Free Dictionary

Hangman
Free website content provided by The Free Dictionary
Google

Wednesday, April 12, 2006

Call for Submissions !!!!


Urban Fiction Anthology Submission Guidelines

N
ationally bestselling and award-winning authors Niobia Bryant and Kim Louise are seeking submissions of short stories for an urban fiction/street lit anthology. The ladies are looking for the best street lit authors out there, whether published or unpublished. Stories in the tradition of Ann Petry, Donald Goines, Iceberg Slim, and contemporaries like Sistah Souljah, Shannon Holmes, and Teri Woods will catch their attention. The stories should truly capture the realistic portrayal of the lives, the choices, the hustle, the grind, the drama, and the angst of surviving in today’s urban inner cities. The tone of the stories should be gritty, edgy, contemporary, and raw.

The project is represented by
Claudia Menza of the Menza-Barron Literary Agency.

Anthology Concept

* All stories must be set on August 15, the hottest day of the summer.

* All stories must be set in the fictional low-rise Carter G. Woodson housing projects-- a.k.a Woodson Court--located on the fictional Washington Ave. in Newark, New Jersey.
Please note:The general description for the projects are eight to nine buildings centered around a playground and parking lot. Each building is three stories with four apartments on each floor. There are no elevators --just a stairwell. There is some graffiti but not a lot. The project has a mailroom on the first floor of one of the buildings.
See pictures on this page for a reference point on how to describe the project. In the pictures the buildings are six stories but remember Woodson Court has only three.

* All characters must be living in or visiting residents of Woodson Court.

* All stories should take place in or around Woodson Court.

Submission Guidelines
* All stories must be written in proper manuscript formatting--12pt. Courier New, double spaced with one-inch margins.

* Stories should be 2500 – 3500 words (10 – 14 pages with proper formatting)

* Both first person and third person stories are welcome from both female and male points of view

* E-mail your story to
urbananthologies@yahoo.com. No attachments will be accepted. Please paste your submission into the body of the e-mail. Any stories sent as an attachment will be deleted. Please put URBAN ANTHOLOGY in the subject line.

* Be sure to include your name and contact information on a cover sheet WITH THE STORY (not just in the email)— mailing address, phone, fax and email. The final selection process will take a while, so if your contact information changes, please keep us informed.

* Only original stories that have not been published in any format are allowed.

* Just one one story per author and please submit to us exclusively.

* All stories may be edited for content and length.

* Submissions must be received by June 1, 2006.

Compensation:

* There will be a payment for each story accepted for the final publication. Each contributor will receive copies of the completed project and a payment of $100.00.

* Also every contributor will be able to include a bio in the Contributors section of both the book and on the web site.


We look forward to reading your stories!

Niobia and Kim

http://www.geocities.com/urbananthologies/home.html

Posted by jebratt :: Wednesday, April 12, 2006 :: 0 comments

Post a Comment

---------------oOo---------------